Trevor Aitchison win makes Mayfield West club history

TREVOR Aitchison created club history last Wednesday when he became the first Mayfield West bowler to win the Les Parrott Memorial open singles, which is part of the 55th annual NDBA Mattara Bowls Carnival.

Aitchison led all the way in the final to beat Richard Lee (Tea Gardens) 25-14, after racing to a match-winning 15-3 lead after nine ends.

In the semi-finals, Aitchison downed Sean Mearrick (Tea Gardens) 25-10 and Lee accounted for Sam Chapman (Warners Bay) 25-22.

Merewether’s Claude Pendlebury proved too consistent for 16-year-old Jayden Robinson (East Maitland) in the restricted singles final, winning 25-16, after the scores were tied 11-11 after 10 ends.

Pendlebury scored five shots on the last three ends to edge out Geoff Wallis (Kahibah) 25-23 in the semi-finals, while Robinson comfortably defeated Robert Butler (Warners Bay) 25-16.

■ Lambton Bowling Club will host the semi-finals and finals of the traditional Mattara carnival on Friday from 9.30am and 1pm respectively.

Three-time men’s open fours champions Wayne Smith, John Parkinson, Andrew Smith and Jason Pietraszek (Soldiers Point) will attempt to win a record-breaking fourth title when they meet the strong Charlestown quartet of Shane Barclay, Ian Barrett, Trent Bennison and Terry Blow in the semi-finals.

The second semi-final will be fought out between the Wallsend combination of David Hawkins, Paul Wilson, John Dennis and Glenn Soper and Water Board’s Jim McDonald, Craig Eades, Jarrod Duncan and David Horne.

Teams from East Maitland and Soldiers Point will fight out the mixed pairs semi-finals.

Jan and Roy Sutherland (East Maitland) play juniors Kate Matthews and Mitchell Bellingham (Soldiers Point), while Lesley Wilson and John Collins (Soldiers Point) meet Shendelle and Bob Smith (East Maitland).

■ The Frank Neat Memorial men’s classic triples starts on Wednesday with defending titleholders Jason Pietraszek, Lee Such and Terry Antram (Soldiers Point) opposing the Marks Point trio of John Arthurson, John Finn and Andre Monis.

The 2013 winning skipper, Martin Ball, has transferred from Alder Park to Kotara and has two new players in Wayne Squires and Harold Unsted.

They appear evenly matched against the Wallsend trio of club president Mick Lewis, Chris Elkin and promising young bowler Nick Evans.

■ The Newcastle district champion of club champions singles championship starts on Saturday.

Defending titleholder David Govan (Valentine) meets Mark Heath (Redhead) in the first round at Water Board.

■ Windale-Gateshead has two vacancies for its $5500 encouragement triples tournament next Monday and Tuesday.

It is open to all bowlers who are graded No.3 grade open pennant or under in 2015.

■ The 2015 NSW Woomeras bowlers arm team, containing 12 Newcastle and Hunter bowlers, travel to Tranmere Bowling Club, South Australia, to play for the Bowls Australia trophy on September 6-10.